Thanksgiving menu

Oh, how I love Thanksgiving. I’m switching it up a bit this year – changing out some of the dishes that I grew up with but my family isn’t thrilled with. Here goes:

  • Turkey & gravy – a la mom. Don’t mess with the process.
  • Stuffing – Pepperidge Farm herb stuffing, some cooked in the bird, remainder warmed in the oven.
  • Cranberry-pear sauce, but instead of water I use 2/3 c. orange juice and 1/3 c. bourbon.
  • Corn casserole¬†– according to my kids, this is why we have Thanksgiving.
  • Southern style green beans – this is a new one this year, but I substitute bacon for the sausage. We usually do green bean casserole for Thanksgiving, but I’m the only one who eats it. So this year I’m doing regular, heart-healthy, fresh green beans slathered¬†in bacon grease.
  • Mashed potatoes – Not even gonna lie. I don’t have a recipe. I use red potatoes, skinned, boiled, and then mashed with salt & pepper, milk, sour cream, garlic, a little parmesan cheese, and sometimes cream cheese for that extra creaminess. I just keep adding and mashing till it looks right.
  • And the piece de resistance, Derby Pie. Or, chocolate bourbon pecan pie. Possibly with vanilla ice cream.

Thankfully, there will be plenty of people to partake of the feast – everything in moderation, right?

 

Leave a Reply

