DIY Halloween costume: Kitty Cat

Bean wanted to be a cheerleader for Halloween and that was fantastic – we had the cheerleader outfit collecting dust in the dress-up box. Easy. Perfect. Till I checked the weather. Silly me – first halloween since moving from Florida and I realized that weather is actually a concern. I found a cute kitty cat costume online, but since it was last minute and all, Bean’s size was sold out.

A trip to the thrift store landed me a winter white sweater and a fuzzy black long sleeve, long legged unitard (jumpsuit?). With scissors and my brand spankin new sewing machine, I turned all of that (plus felt for ears) into this:

Ignore the white fuzzies on the floor… The sweater sheds…

Ignore the non-photogenic furniture – I needed the light for the shot.

Isn’t she cute??? The whole costume, felt included, cost $7. And I have the satisfaction of knowing I made it myself. And the sleep deprivation from deadlines stacked on top of each other to make my eye twitch. It’s hard to sew when your eye is twitching.

One thought on “DIY Halloween costume: Kitty Cat

Leave a Reply

