Feeling domestic

I’ve been pulling weeds bit by bit every day this week. While the kids ride bikes and go wild outside, I fill up trash bag after trash bag with weeds. It would seem that there is no grass in our yard. Just weeds.

Well, we made a trip to Pike’s nursery today and picked up some things. A little (very little) gardenia bush that I planted next to the front walk; a Veggie Tales growing kit for the kids to grow tomatoes and banana peppers; seeds for zinnia and other flowers that Bean picked out; and a slew of veggie seeds. As long as there’s no groomed yard, I don’t see why I should waste good backyard space with weeds. So this morning I planted Bean’s flowers (since, after all, she doesn’t like dirt – which she told me after we bought ‘her’ seeds). I planted my gardenia. And the boys and I did the Veggie Tales planting kit. Tomorrow I’ll get to work with the rest of the seeds. Tomato, cucumber, zucchini, pumpkin, watermelon, eggplant, and chives. You can probably guess which ones I picked out and which ones the kids picked out.

Leave a Reply

