Mom, I’m not gonna be like you!

Gee, thanks Bean.

Seriously, at 5 years old? That much defiance? That much attitude? At least I had the fortitude to sit back and patiently ask what she meant. She proceeded to tell me that when she’s grown up and she has kids and she’s a mommy, she won’t tell her kids what to do. In fact, she’ll let them tell her what to do. Because that’s what kids like. So she’ll let her kids tell her what to do.

Really? Well, Bean, I’m very glad you told me that. In fact, that’s very important and I want to make sure you don’t forget that priceless piece of wisdom when you’re a mommy. So please, let me write it down for you, and you can sign it at the bottom. Deal?

And that’s exactly what we did. In Bean’s file folder in the filing cabinet, right between her birth certificate and vaccination record, is a plain white sheet of paper documenting Bean’s parenting wisdom. I’ll pull it out just at the right time, I’m sure. ‘Cause that’s what moms do.

2 thoughts on “Mom, I’m not gonna be like you!

  1. I am completely in love with your wisdom – I will have to employ such a document (or two) as my kids are full of similar philosophies… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

