Bean is 5!

img_3361

My Bean turned 5 yesterday. Indulge me just a moment – isn’t she the most adorable 5-year old you’ve ever seen? She was a little disappointed that she couldn’t have her friends from Atlanta at her party here – she named them all, but I’ll spare you the list of names. She even remembered her good friend who moved to Texas a year and a half ago. We missed them all, but she had lots of her new friends at her party and she had a great time with them. We’re very thankful that we were able to get connected as quickly as we did and find friends for the kids.

Sofia got a Barbie (complete with a martini – what’s up with that?) and a couple Barbie knock-offs. One actually has pastel pink hair and an easily removable head. Another has jellies. Like, totally, dude. Like, from 1986, right? And like, they have, like, really high heals, and they, like, lace up all the way up to her, like, knee! And, like, for real. They’re like the totally coolest, like, pink. Like. (Need I worry that Bean’s actually starting to talk, um, like that?)

Anyhow, she’s 5 now. The last few months have been big for her, but she’s come out of her shell quite a bit. I know it’s stretching her, but moving and making new friends and learning a new language and trusting people other than mom and dad have been really good for her. She’s learning to go with the flow and she’s handling the transition with much more ease than I expected.

She’s my big 5 year old and she’s doing great. Remember, she’s only been here for 6 weeks and only been in preschool for 3 or 4 weeks. At her party yesterday, she was running around with her Moldovan friends, talking to them. Conversing, debating over whether to go down the slide or run down the ramp, negotiating about what to do next. My baby girl’s growing up.

Happy birthday, Bean.

One thought on “Bean is 5!

  1. She is adorable(i cant spell that word) and you crack me up. We miss you too and wish we could have been there. I will let SK know that her friend turned five. SK has a loose tooth, whats up with that? But she still wets her bed and throws huge PMS fits. I am pretty much at my wits end. I wonder how I am going to make it through the day. My three year old is driving my nuts! Why did I have to have to end on a strong-willed note? I don’t think I can finish the song. It will have many repeats. Anyway, I hope you have a wonderful Easter and extreme hugs and kisses,
    Jenn

    Like

Leave a Reply

