Happiness

The other day I left Bean and Little Man on their own downstairs while I went up to change Bruiser’s diaper. When I came back downstairs the house was still standing, no one was screaming, and there were no broken bones. And – miracle of miracles – both kids were happily enjoying the other’s company. The following conversation ensued:

Me: “Oh, wow! You guys are playing so nicely together! That makes me so happy!” (You know, that whole recognize good behavior and make a big deal of it thing…)

Bean: “Wow, Mama! You’ve never been happy before!”

Me: “Huh? Sure I have…” (incredulous)

Bean: “When was that? What time was it?”

Because apparently it’s only happened once and it was so short-lived that my first born can’t even recall… What does that say about me?

3 thoughts on “Happiness

Leave a Reply

