Getting into the groove

After a week away, we’re back home now. We spent a week in Florida visiting my parents. And my brother, and my aunt. And we saw my cousin, one of my bridesmaids, and one of hubby’s work colleagues. That was a lot to fit into one week, especially considering it was a week virtually without sleep and that was meant to help me get some work done. (and no, it didn’t get done.)

Regardless, a good time was had by all, including wonderdog Sam, who actually dives underwater to retrieve toys. Yes, I’m serious. My brother’s dog dives down to the bottom of the pool to get toys. Anyhow, we learned some things this trip. Like, Little Man will become a big girl when he starts using the potty. Bean no longer wants to be a princess when she grows up. Now she wants to be a garbage truck driver. (And who said our kids weren’t ambitious?) Bruiser will be able to play with baby toys when he’s 17, according to Bean. And Little Man has apparently become a puppy dog (that is, until he’s big enough to use the potty – then he’ll cease being a puppy and he’ll become a big girl.)

Our big outing this morning was the library. A pregnant mom with a 4-year old asked me how I managed to get 3 kids who are so young to the library and still look nice myself. Unfortunately my answer was less than impressive. We’re here at lunch time because it was the earliest I could wrestle them all out the door (and now that we’re here it’s time to leave, since we’re all hungry). I’m wearing heels because I couldn’t find any other shoes. I have on nice slacks and this cute layered top thing because all my other clothes are covered in spit-up. And wait, did you see my 4-yr old in wooly winter tights and clothes would challenge Punky Brewster’s sense of fashion? See, that was a battle I wasn’t willing to fight this morning. So she’s dying of heat under all that. Oh, and my cute hair cut? It’s this short intentionally – so that I don’t have to spend more than 30 seconds on it to look presentable. And the make-up? That’s from yesterday that I didn’t bother to wash off.  Now if you’ll excuse us, I have to rush them back home for the lunch they should have had about an hour ago.

One thought on “Getting into the groove

Leave a Reply

