Where in the world…

Is Mudlark these days? Good question. Most of the time I’m reveling in the fact that I’m getting my family back. Back from where, you might ask? Well, let’s just say I’m regaining control of my kids. Over the last 6 months I sank into working-mom-dom, followed by overdue pregnancy blues, and then into blissful new mom-hood. Blissful new mom-hood brought with it the realization that I wasn’t a stay at home mom for 4 years just to turn my kids over to someone else and let them teach them all the things I don’t want them to learn.

So lately I’ve been reclaiming my children. They like it, I think. Except for the fact that reclaiming them means re-instituting rules that they’ve gotten away from. And the sudden onset of discipline (which they’ve lacked for, oh, about 6 months). But I have a secret to tell you… shhh… (if you’re under the age of 15 stop reading here)… here it is… kids like discipline. They like to know the rules and understand where the boundaries are. So I may be the heavy right now, but my kids are happier. And they’re becoming the sweet, respectful, well-mannered children I thought I’d lost.

Wanna know what else I’ve been doing? Watching Lost. Lots of it. Fast and furious. Hour after hour. The minute we get the kids in bed we camp out on the couch and watch pirated creatively-obtained episodes of Lost, accompanied by popcorn or ice cream. We’re half way through season 3.

No worries – I’m not wasting time. I’m nursing. Which is good because we found out today that Bruiser (baby #3 – we decided that his earlier coined nickname, Peanut, definitely didn’t fit him) isn’t gaining weight. As in, in 2 weeks’ time he’s only gained an ounce. He’s quite a bit longer, but he’s getting skinnier by the day. (Note: this is probably not due to my stellar diet – note the popcorn and ice cream course enjoyed nightly with Lost). So I say, Moms, ignore the docs. You know your kid best. I called to schedule a weight check and they hesitated to let me come in – ‘silly mom, don’t be so paranoid… your kid is probably just fine!’ But I was right. I knew my kid wasn’t gaining, and I’m so glad I found out now rather than waiting until his next appointment in a month!

The lactation consultant said he’s lazy. No news to me! That would explain why he stubbornly refused to heed my pleas to exit my womb on time. And his reluctance to respond to the pitocin in the hospital and just. come. out. Lazy kid. That’s okay though. There’s grace for that. And lots of nursing. Which very well might bring more Lost. And ice cream. And popcorn. It’s a rough life…

2 thoughts on “Where in the world…

  1. Yay! Glad you’re back, and great to talk to you today. You do know that ABC posts all of the Lost episodes on their website, yeah? I learned that from your Ten Thousand Places buddy. Sometimes I let an episode (an old one that i’ve already seen) run in the background while I “work” on budgets or email or whatever at night…

    Like

Leave a Reply

