WFMW: Cauliflower

I’ve never liked cauliflower. Wait, let me qualify that. If someone asked me to eat cauliflower I’d probably run fast in the other direction. And I would never, ever, in a million years force it on my precious children. I don’t believe in torturing the young.

But I got adventurous when I saw a recipe for roasted cauliflower in a magazine that claimed to ‘alter’ the cauliflower and make it all caramelized and sweet. True, I was skeptical, but I figured one head of cauliflower for 6 people would give everyone a taste, and if it was awful (like I assumed it probably would be), no one would feel the need to eat copious amounts (myself included).

Let me tell you. I have a new favorite veggie. I cut the raw cauliflower into florets, tossed it with a couple teaspoons olive oil, and lightly salted it. Put it in a shallow baking dish in a 450 degree oven for 35 minutes, stirring it once or twice as it cooked. My pickiest eater asked for a third helping! And everyone gobbled it up. It’s my new fave. Hint: cook it till it’s nice and evenly browned – the more browned, the more caramelized, and therefore the more melt-in-your-mouth sweet.

Well, that’s what works for me. I’ll be gobbling up cauliflower all spring – as long as it’s in season. Head over to Shannon’s place for more cool ideas.

12 thoughts on “WFMW: Cauliflower

  1. I actually love cauliflower (yeah, I’m strange that way!) but I’ve never had it this way. It sounds awesome! I’ll definitely be trying that for dinner in the near future!

    Like

  2. I mostly just steam veggies – I never think to roast them — My husband is not a cauliflower fan, so I should try this because I really love cauliflower.

    Thanks for a great tip!
    Kristin

    Like

  3. I would LOVE that, but I don’t know if I could get my kids to eat it. It’s funny, if I can get them to try something they’ll almost always end up liking it, but just getting them to take that first bite can be near impossible.

    Like

  4. Oh, wow, that sounds good! Cauliflower is actually my favorite cooked vegetable. My favorite way to make it is Polanaise style. Basically, you melt butter in a skillet and add some crushed up cracker or breadcrumbs. Then you chop up a hardboiled egg and mix the egg and breadcrumbs with the cauliflower. It actually tastes more like buttery eggy crackers than cauliflower.
    BTW, I’m of the opinion that just about ANY vegetable tastes better roasted!

    Like

  5. thanks – we’ll be giving this a try bc we’re always looking for more ways to “enjoy” veggies…especially other than green beans, our stand-by!

    Like

  6. I don’t mind cauliflower if it is offered to me, but I’ve never purchased it to make it at home. Until now. I’ll have to give this a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

