What I’ve learned

Things that don’t work to evict a baby induce labor (yes, I’ve tried all of these in recent days):

  • Jumping with your kids at the Jump Zone (one of those bounce house party places)
  • Scalini’s eggplant parmesan (well, it worked for Bean, but not baby #3. And a 50/50 chance doesn’t do it for me.)
  • Olive Garden’s eggplant parmesan
  • Homemade chicken parmesan (chicken monterey-jack really, because I was out of parmesan) – they say the combination of basil and oregano helps… I beg to differ. After 3 nights in a row, it didn’t do squat.
  • Spicy foods
  • Walking. A lot.
  • Jumping on a trampoline.
  • Bouncing and rocking on a yoga ball.
  • Pineapple – but if you eat a whole one all at once, it’ll make your tongue burn.
  • Pressure points in your hands, legs, and feet
  • Oxytocin and prostaglandins – as boosted by ‘certain activities’ (this is a G-rated blog…)
  • Rolling my hips in circles – but it did provide plenty of entertainment for anyone who caught a glance of it.
  • Spending time on my hands and knees on the floor, arching and rolling my back – ditto for the entertainment factor.
  • Pushing down on my belly (entirely unscientific, but something keeps telling me that gravity needs a little help)

Anyone? Ideas? I’m not willing to do castor oil, and my midwife advised me not to try black or blue cohosh.

Actually, today was my personal deadline for delivery before my due (the baby’s actually due next Sunday). I have too much going on this week to be in the hospital in labor. Wednesday we see Liam’s neurosurgeon and Friday is Bean’s 4th birthday. So for now, I’m done with trying to induce myself. At this point I’m hoping the baby waits until next weekend. Of course, if he doesn’t come on Saturday I’ll be doing jumping jacks on the trampoline while eating spicy foods and pushing down on my belly with one hand while I use the other to push on pressure points and simultaneously rolling my hips in circles. It’ll be quite a sight to see.

6 thoughts on “What I’ve learned

  1. If it makes you feel any better my first was 10 days late. Okay, so my second (just the week before last) was 4 days early, but that was for no fun medical reasons- not worth trying. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Have you tried Yahtzee? That’s what we were playing the night I went into labor!

    hehe

    I swore Dahlia would come out and cry “Yahtzee!”

    Like

  3. well not sure how your stomach would feel… but someone brought my mom over a gift of a pecan pie right before I was due… She ate almost the whole thing… 2 hours later (and an upset stomach) our I came!

    …She hasn’t touched Pecan Pie since… 27 years later!

    Like

  4. Just happened across your blog…

    Here’s some of what I’ve done in the past. not that I know if it helped or not, but…eh, it kept my brain busy and made me feel like I was accomplishing something. So THAT’s always good, right?

    -Situps.
    -having my husband check to see if I’m dilating. (I have a midwife friend who told me how to have him do it correctly and be able to tell).
    -There’s some kind of natural herb thing you can insert to help soften your cervix. (but I can’t remember what. I know…that’s extremely helpful)
    -RELAXING. I’ve found it REALLY REALLY important for me to be at peace…once I’m there, my body just jumps into action. When I’m stressing it, it locks up and does NOTHING.

    Hope you have that baby soon! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. My sweet friend,
    I have told you once and i will say it again. Enjoy the baby being inside you, no matter how uncomfortable it is. Put your feet up and say”I am not doing anything else” Declare your state of beached whaleness. Have you seen the chiropractor? I know how you feel and I cannot make it any better. Have you tried begging and pleading with your doctor for inducement? Oh, I wish I could help.
    Jenn

    Like

Leave a Reply

