Parenting advice sought

So, moms and dads of the world. What do you do when the kids’ grandparents play favorites with your kids?

Don’t get me wrong – it’s awesome to have them in my kids’ lives. More people to shower love on them. People to teach them a different perspective on life. They have their own culture that they grew up with, and that only enriches our kids’ lives.

But how do you handle the situation? Do you confront the grandparents about it? If so, how? How do you convey love and appreciation for what they do, while pointing out that they manifest their love for one child more adequately than for the other(s)?

4 thoughts on “Parenting advice sought

  1. My thoughts are to pray about it wholeheartedly, first.

    I know from reading your blog for awhile that you are very appreciative of them. It makes it especially hard not to address this since they are living in your home. That brings a whole new level to whether or not to address it.

    I probably would address it since they are living with you. Especially with a new baby on it’s way…my suggestion of prayer is so that right words are spoken, and for a right heart to hear your concerns when offered.

    I’ll pray for you too in this circumstance.

    Kristi in Texas

    Like

  2. Dang – I wish I had seen this earlier. I remember my family telling me that this happened to me as well. Apparently my Uncle Chuck stood up for me, and reminded everyone not to forget me, and that if there were toys to be given, or love to be showered, that I was important too… I have never forgotten that he stood up for me.

    I’m just saying. You’re their protector. Against everything. Stand in the gap for them. This is no time to be shy.

    Like

  3. Oh, man, that’s tough. I can’t speak as a parent, but I know that my mom’s parents sort of, as you put it, “manifested their love” for me more adequately than they did for my brother. In our case, though, my brother was at least to all appearances oblivious to the discrepancy, but I can’t help but feel that it must have affected him on a subconscious level. I don’t have any advice, though. One thing that I think would be a *bad* idea, which I’m sure you already know, is to try to compensate by giving the other child more of *your* attention. That would be my temptation. I think you’re on the right track by feeling that you need to address it with your in-laws. Is it frustratingly unhelpful of me to say that I’ll be praying for you about it? I really will.

    J

    Like

Leave a Reply

