Things I’d love to try

… but can’t convince other parties involved:

  • Cloth diapering – what’s on the market today is not my mother’s cloth diapers. It’s a lot easier than it used to be, and think of the money we’d save!
  • Homeschooling – I think it would be really fun. If I weren’t working so much. Then again, I’m also a firm believer in putting kids in the public school system, but that’s something to write about another day.
  • Composting – wouldn’t it be cool to compost your garbage instead of sending it to the landfill? And then use it to fertilize the vegetable garden… (if only I had a vegetable garden)
  • Growing a vegetable garden – my in-laws are actually helping with this. Only, since they do the work, they pick what to plant. And onions and beets aren’t really something I get overly excited about. I was thinking it’d be fun to have cucumbers, tomatoes, snap peas, blueberries… yum. Maybe when it warms up outside we can change the planting strategy. How cool to grow and cook our own food though!
  • Go vegetarian – I was especially convinced by this article, but I don’t think the other members of my family (any of them, that is) would appreciate the idea.
3 thoughts on “Things I’d love to try

  1. Thanks Jess (tenthousandplaces) – we’ve decided to go meatless for part of the week. We’ll still have the occasional steak, eat fish as often as I’m willing to stomach it (the fish of the world need not worry too much), but for at least 3-4 nights a week we’ll be eating meatless.

    Like

  2. You can do a lot if you accept that you can’t do everything. For example, you don’t have to be a vegetarian to do good. I read that if every American ate just one less meat meal per week, the grain produced on the land not taken by cattle (I am saying this in a convoluted way) would be enough to feed all of America’s hungry. I wish I had the original statistic, I’m messing it up. I’ll try to find it for you. ANYWAY, my point is, there is a lot that IS within your power. Go for it, sister!

    I’ve been wanting to call you, btw, but have been hindered by having laryngitis. 😦 Soon and very soon. 🙂

    Like

  3. Dude…I saw blueberry um bushes? trees? plants? at Lowe’s this week. Let’s get some!

    I just used dude in a sentence. It’s late.

    Like

Leave a Reply

