Two

Little Man,

You’re two today, and that’s hard for me to believe. It seems like just yesterday I was holding you for the first time. You bring me immense joy every day. Your cuddles and snuggles melt my heart. Your bright smile with eyes lit up make a rough day bearable.

You amaze me with your resilience. With all you’ve been through, you still can’t stop smiling. You have a laid-back way of dealing with the rough spots life brings you, and a quick look into your eyes tells me it’s all gonna be okay.

You have that tough boy quality that makes you get up, brush yourself off, and keep on going – even after you’ve scraped up your knees, hands, and forehead. Nothing seems to phase you (except having to share Thomas). Even with ear infections, fevers, and pneumonia, you don’t complain (but I wish you’d let me know that you’re hurting!).

You may be a tough boy, but at the same time, you’re gentle and caring with other kids – you look after the ones that are littler than you, and you know to be gentle with people and pets too. You have a warm and loving way in dealing with other people – both kids and grown-ups. And when you reach up to me just to pat my head or steal a little smooch, I have to stop and count my blessings that you’re you.

Leave a Reply

