Desperately seeking sanity

The in-laws. Yet another post about the in-laws. My entire life right now seems like a drawn-out episode of Everybody Loves Raymond. On steroids. Sure, there are good things too, like free babysitters for date nights and help with tedious household tasks like mopping and scrubbing toilets. But right now, my biggest struggle is for sanity. I’m working on narrowing down ways to regain my sanity. I think they go something like this:

  • Wisdom is knowing what to ignore (and actually ignoring it)
  • If a comment really hurts, look first to your own pride to figure out why (ouch!)
  • Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. (Col. 3:1-3)

Maybe if I can concentrate more on those things and less on the situations that bring stress, I’ll stop giving this baby in my belly an emotional roller coaster… And maybe my sanity won’t be a casualty of our new living arrangement. Just maybe…

One thought on “Desperately seeking sanity

  1. Hey girlie. I’m sorry to hear it’s still tough. I think it’s different when your mind starts to think about long term affects on your children’s character. At least that’s what the voices in my head constantly yell about.

    So, how’s next Thursday night looking?

    Like

Leave a Reply

