300th post

This is my 300th post at Mudlark Tales! I thought about writing a 300 things post, but then laziness set in. Plus the fact that no one out there wants to read a list of 300 things. So, I thought I’d take off a zero. 30 things. And not just 30 things, but 30 things to be thankful for. You can handle that, can’t you?

  1. I have 2 mild-mannered kids who love me to pieces. (As Bean’s fever was spiking last night and I was finding special ways to make her comfy, hubby asked her, “Isn’t mommy smart?” Bean said, “No, she’s fantastic!” And yes, that quiet dripping you just heard was the sound of my heart melting.)
  2. I’m married to the love of my life.
  3. We have baby #3 on the way.
  4. My kids will grow up having a strong relationship with all 4 of their grandparents. I think that’s huge.
  5. I have the most comfortable pillow ever made, in the history of the planet.
  6. I get to eat 3 meals a day with my kids, any time I want.
  7. And now, I get to escape from them any time I need the solitude (thanks to having the in-laws here).
  8. I have friends who love me, and accept me for who I am.
  9. The roses in my front yard are blooming.
  10. There are sweet, juicy cucumbers growing in my backyard, and they’re so good.
  11. I don’t have to pull weeds any more – my in-laws love to garden.
  12. I don’t have to clean the kitchen any more – my mother-in-law has taken that on as her contribution to the family.
  13. Oranges are in season. Yum!
  14. My kids are surrounded by awesome people – their friends, doctors, teachers, neighbors, and relatives all have a positive influence on them.
  15. We live far enough south that I don’t have to worry about snow or ice.
  16. But far enough north that we still have seasons (or at least some of them).
  17. My cooking makes people happy.
  18. I have people around me who are good at the things I’m not. And they don’t mind helping.
  19. I can laugh at myself. (And do, frequently)
  20. There’s a Taco Bell around the corner. (Did I mention that through this pregnancy I’ve had a debilitating craving for Burrito Supremes?)
  21. I got more chocolate for my birthday than a sane person would be able to eat in half a lifetime.
  22. It’s the perfect jacket weather now for my 2 favorite jackets – a pink leather blazer (sounds awful, but it’s adorable!), and a tan suede duster with faux leopard lining (again, sounds awful, but it’s really cute too).
  23. My kids are sleeping through the night now.
  24. Bean is (mostly) over her fear of the wind.
  25. I learned how to make mamaliga (the Moldovan equivalent of polenta).
  26. Romanian language is easier than Russian. (And thankfully, I only need to know Romanian.)
  27. I live in a country where I’m free to believe what I wish, and to practice my beliefs.
  28. And I’m thankful for those who made and those who still make sacrifices to ensure that.
  29. I have been saved by grace through faith, not by anything I’ve done or try to do.
  30. I have an open invitation to come boldly before God, to stand in the glory of His presence, and to lay all my worries at His feet.
Leave a Reply

