6 days. And counting.

In 6 days my in-laws will be moving in for us. After working like a mad woman for a couple weeks, my house is mostly ready. Thankfully.

But I realized today that I’ve focused all my energy on preparing my home, and I completely forgot that this is going to be mentally, emotionally, and spiritually demanding.  I haven’t seen my in-laws in 4 years, and they’ve never met my kids. I am so looking forward to the blessings of having them here – extra hands, gleaning from their wisdom, a whole new generation and culture living in our home, my kids’ knowing their heritage and becoming more fluent in Romanian… But I know that in the short-term there are going to be some difficult adjustments, and I haven’t mentally prepared myself for those.

I confidently went through the ‘fruit of the Spirit’ (Gal. 5:22) this morning, mentally putting a check mark on the qualities I’m good on. Then – you know – that whole Holy Spirit thing got in the way. And I realized. I need all of them. Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. I’ve got nothin’.

So I have 6 days to acquire the fruit of the Spirit. In the meantime, I’m pretty confident that if I ask for it, God will increase it in me. And though I won’t ‘arrive’ I’m also confident that He’ll fill those around me with grace and a quickness to forgive. I have to believe that – otherwise I’d be a basket-case right now. But do me a favor. Stop for a moment and mention that one to God for me. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

