I missed my calling

Apparently, hubbs and I could be driving a Rolls Royce. If only we’d gone the way of pastoring a prosperity gospel church instead of some quaint, conservative church plant in who-knows-where. Darn. Guess we missed the boat on that one.

Referring to his over $3 mill. salary, luxury cars, and extravagant lifestyle, Rev. Dollar (yes, that’s really his name!) says “Just because it’s excessive doesn’t mean it’s wrong.” Anyone? Thoughts?

There’s been an ongoing debate through Christian history on this very issue (of course, Rolls Royces would be a recent addition to the debate). There are battling sides – one that says God rewards the faithful with material pleasures. The other tends to be more monastic, giving up worldly goods to free themselves to fully serve Him. I don’t expect the debate to come to an abrupt end, but which one is it? Is Rev. Dollar’s Rolls a reward from God for his faithful ministry? Or should we be seeking out treasures in heaven rather than on earth?

3 thoughts on “I missed my calling

  1. The problem is not the luxury, though I agree it’s excess is sin, but that Creflo Dollar (and Joyce Meyer and Benny Hinn and Kenneth Copeland and Paul & Jan Crouch and Paula & Randy White and somebody stop me…) are living lavishly off the money which was given to them, albeit foolishly, for the work of the Kingdom.

    Their actions bring to mind Ananias and Sapphira (Acts 5) who sold some property and then lied about what they’d given. Peter questioned them, saying, “Why is it that you have conceived this deed in your heart? You have not lied to men but to God.”

    Of course, we all know what happened next. Ananias dropped dead on the spot, as did his wife Sapphira when she was asked about the matter.

    To be frank, it makes me wonder what fate awaits the TBN crowd. Seems the Lord is separating the sheep from the goats.

    Like

  2. What is that verse again? Something Paul said, “moderation in all things” or the words of Christ, “if you have 2 shirts and see your brother with none, give him one”

    Guess Mr. Dollar missed that part of the Bible.

    As for the God rewarding us with material things, well, that has always bothered me. I once heard a preacher say “if you were poor and a Christian, then you must not have enough faith and God was punishing you by making you poor, because if you believed in God enough you would have 3 houses and lots of cars and tons of money.” That does NOT sound like the God I know and serve.

    It seems to me that people who serve God just to get rich have their reward here on earth and are in for a shock when they face God in the end.

    I am not saying that God doesn’t provide material things for our need and enjoyment. But he isn’t a vending machine for Rolls Royces and fancy houses.

    There a verse in Proverbs ( I think) or Psalms (maybe) – anyway, its a prayer. “God, do not make me poor, for then I might curse your name, God do not make me rich, for then I might forget about you”. I’ve always thought that is a true thing to pray. What do you think?

    Like

Leave a Reply

