Our Covenant God-Chapters 3 & 4

ocg.gifWelcome to our discussion of chapters 3 and 4 of Our Covenant God by Kay Arthur.  Thank you for bearing with me over the last few weeks.  I know you don’t need me to encourage you in reading this wonderful book, but I truly love our discussion time.

Here are a few questions I’ve prepared to get us started.  Please feel free to share what you wish from your reading, not simply responding to my minimal questions.  So, here we go.

Chapter 3:

God obligating Himself to man.  Have you ever thought of grace in those terms before ?

Have you ever thought of grace as a result of covenant?

Have you ever thought of the story of Noah to be a picture of God carrying you through the storms, in the safety of the ark?

Chapter 4:

Karath beriyth.  How solemn is this compact?

Have you seen the unconditional reality of the covenant that God has made with His beloved?

Eager to hear your thoughts.

jules.jpg

5 thoughts on “Our Covenant God-Chapters 3 & 4

  1. I still have not been able to get ahold of this book. But I am thoroughly enjoying the questions and comments and am looking forward to the book arriving on my doorstep.

    Like

  2. I must agree with Rebekah; I’ve never studied covenant in-depth, so my understanding till now has been superficial. And I’m being blown away.

    Chapter 3: In reading Genesis before, I’ve seen that God was the instigator, so to speak, of the covenant between Himself and Noah and Abraham, but no, Jules, i’ve never connected grace to that! (See how superficial I’ve been? I tend to think of “grace” as a New Testament thing.) But there it is. God obligated Himself to Noah, not because Noah did something to earn it…He just did it out of mercy and love and…grace. And now, when I think of Noah and the ark, it’s so much more than “in came the animals, two by two…”. The ark is our safe haven, too. No need to fear. No need to question. After some recent issues that cropped up, I got up the next morning to see a magnificent rainbow outside my bedroom window. Kay is right. We know who put that bow in the sky: our covenant-keeping God.

    Chapter 4: I loved learning about karath beriyth. The solemnity of the act of passing through the pieces hits home in the quote on page 33 (“the one passing through the pieces pledged his faithfulness to the covenant. If that faithfulness was broken, he called death upon himself, or the same fate which befell the animals.”). Rebekah said something similar to what I’ve been becoming more and more aware of: our security in Christ. Beautiful!

    Like

  3. I take that back. It isn’t a bit mind-blowing, it’s overwhelming sometimes when I really think about it. How this understanding enriches the understanding of the security I have in Christ!

    Like

  4. Something I’m finding as I read through this book is that I had superficially thought about some of these things, but I had not really, really thought through the true significance of them, if that makes sense. The idea that God chose to obligate Himself to us was extremely powerful to me, and it is something I’m still digesting. I agree that it is a bit mind-blowing that Almighty, Creator God would obligate Himself to me, an undeserving sinner. To think deeply on that does make grace so incredibly precious to me! And it has helped me to recognize His mercies toward me in ways I haven’t always taken the time to acknowledge before – along the lines of being carried in the ark through the storms, yes!

    Karath beriyth is extremely solemn indeed. I want so much to live my life with that thought before me – that I am in covenant with God because He chose to be in covenant with me – amazing!

    Like

  5. I’d never thought of grace before as God obligating Himself to us. To me it was always something given that we don’t deserve (which it still is), but the added concept that God chose to obligate Himself to us through an unbreakable covenant is a little mind-blowing. It adds a whole new dimension to grace, and gives us a new reason to remember that we can trust Him in all things.

    Karath beriyth. A covenant cut in blood is pretty darn solemn. The idea that breaking it assumes that God will take your life (in a covenant between men) makes it perhaps the most solemn agreement two people can make. The thought that God chose us to be in covenant with, and that He takes on the entire obligation Himself is amazing on so many levels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

