Works for Me: Chocolate for nausea

Ok. There’s nothing remotely scientific about it. In fact, most doctors would probably tell me I’m crazy. But for me, for now, it works. In fact, it’s the only thing that works – consistently, quickly, and easily. Every single time.

Honestly, I don’t know if the nausea is caused by the pregnancy, the nasty little cold I have (maybe turning into a flu bug?), or the stress from all the other stuff going on in my life right now. But what I can tell you is that for me, chocolate works. I’m not talking about a giant slice of french silk pie (which I love, and I will admit to using to soothe the grief from other things). But more along the lines of a small piece of chocolate – one of those individually-wrapped ones from Lindt or Hershey. A truffle maybe. Or a chocolate peanut cluster. Something about it settles my tummy (and has the added benefit of making me smile as I slowly, lovingly chew it).  Hubs: if you’re reading this, I could use a refill when you come back home…

That’s what works for me. Head over to Shannon’s place for more ideas. Hopefully some of them will be a little more helpful than mine!

7 thoughts on “Works for Me: Chocolate for nausea

  1. Chocolate stops nausea when I get it too. & a friend of mine agreed. So, now I’m trying to find research on it & what the substance is in chocolate that stops nausea.

    Like

  2. Chocolate works for me too! i don know why, but it calms my stomach. when i told my boyfriend (and he recently has gotten some kind of bug…) it worked for him as well.

    Like

  3. I’ve been so absent from reading around at my favorite sites, that it’s been forever since I caught up with you. And wow – apparently a lot can happen in a short amount of time. I just wanted to let you know that I read through your posts on Liam, with tears in my eyes and a rock in my stomach. I’ll certainly be keeping your family in my prayers! (And I’ll be back far more frequently to see how things are going, how God is working in this situation.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

