And the news wasn’t great.

I was hoping to receive a call from the neurologist last week. The call was supposed be that after consulting his colleagues, the neurologist is confident that Little Man’s tumor puts him in no immediate danger and there’s no reason to remove it. We can monitor it with periodic MRI’s and make sure it doesn’t grow.

But a different call came. It said that we need to make an appointment with the neurosurgeon. That puts us squarely on our way towards brain surgery. Pediatric brain surgery. On my 21-month old. I’m wondering what’s appropriate to ask a neurosurgeon. Can I ask him if he’s better than all the king’s men with Humpty Dumpty? Or, if it will be as easy to wake Little Man after the surgery as it was for the prince to wake Sleeping Beauty?  Can I make sure that he’s not doing the surgery out of some George-esque Curiosity to get into things?

I’m learning what James meant about taking joy in suffering.  When the situation is desperate there’s only one place to turn. There’s only One who can assuage the hurt. And in His presence there is peace. There is joy even when the situation would seem to demand sorrow and fear.

7 thoughts on “And the news wasn’t great.

  1. Found your site thru Everyday Mommy. I have several sites I check daily, some more than once a day as prayers are needed. I will add your son and your family to list. I recently went thru a “cancer” scare with my daughter, we received good news at the end of the tunnel. While I have no words of wisdom for you at this moment, I can promise you positive thoughts, and consistent prayers from a sister in Christ. I’m a lurker. Not a huge poster. But know I will be praying.

    Kristi in Texas

    Like

  2. Kath:
    So wishing I could be there, to knock on your door with fresh scones and warm hugs, to take your hands and pray with you during this time. I recall the words of Corrie ten Boom who said, “There is no pit so deep that Christ is not deeper still.” I’m praying for you that God will give you courage and grace and mercy that you’ve never known. That you’ll know that He is and was and is to come, the First and the Last, the Living One, God Almighty.
    My love,
    jules

    Like

  3. Indeed, hard news to swallow. I pray that as you continue to faithfully turn to God in your suffering, that His peace overwhelms you and girds your feet to take the necessary actions for the health of your son.

    Like

  4. Kathy, I wish I had some profound encouragement to give you or could reach out from Minnesota and give you a great big hug. Just know that I’m praying for you and Little Man and your whole family..

    Lara

    Like

Leave a Reply

