It’s done!

I successfully kept Little Man awake on the way to the hospital, with Bear in the Big Blue House on the DVD and windows going down whenever he got too quiet. Do you know that Atlanta has traffic at 6AM? It’s ridiculous.

We got to the hospital at 6:45 – in plenty of time to look at the giant fish tanks before registering. Poor Little Man was so tired that while I was signing all the paperwork he started to drift off while standing next to me. Unfortunately when I got upstairs to the sleep lab (where they do the EEG) a nurse informed me that I had been told the wrong time. I had another hour to keep him awake before anyone could see us. I thought it was going to be Mission Impossible to keep him awake, but it wasn’t too bad. They had this cool toy on the wall – a bar with wooden dominoes. You pull a knob below the bar to stand each one up, then topple them over. Little Man loved it. It didn’t quite occupy him for an hour, but we survived regardless.

The EEG itself was easy – but I think cruelly conceived. They sleep deprived my baby and then only let him sleep for 20 minutes! And then they woke him up with a strobe light. Of course first they covered his gargantuan cranium with nodes and he impressed all the nurses with his remarkable laid-back personality. Apparently most sleep deprived toddlers don’t like being swaddled and having 20 waxy wires stuck to their head and then wrapped in gauze. But Little Man was a star. I think he was just too tired to protest.

We meet with the neurologist on Friday, and that’s when we’ll hear how he did on the EEG. It’s pretty wild that someone can look at pages and pages of squiggly lines and tell me if my baby’s predisposed to seizures…

One thought on “It’s done!

  1. Hey Kathy!
    Deanna turned me onto your blogs a couple of weeks ago. Glad to hear that things went well this morning. We’ll be praying for you guys as you await the results.

    Lara

    Like

Leave a Reply

