First fruits

Me so proud! Bean and I did a little project this summer. We went out and bought seeds – she got to pick them out – and planted them inside in egg cartons. When they sprouted we moved them to the garden outside in the backyard.

I checked on them today, and it looks like our bean plant and our mini pumpkin vine have taken over the rest. But today, I picked our first harvest. A single. solitary. bean. But it was beautiful. I know, I should have left it on the vine until I had more to pick and could actually cook them, but it was so exciting to see it there – I just had to bring it inside. And Bean carried it around with her for the rest of the day. That’s right, Bean carried the bean everywhere we went.  She was so excited about it.

Now if only I can harvest enough to amount to a pile a beans…

Leave a Reply

