WFMW: Dealing with nightmares

Bean has had nightmares since she was a couple hours old. At least that’s what I think. So now at age 3 when she wakes up, oh, 4-5 times a night (almost every night) I’m ready to pull my hair out.

For a while prayer worked. We’d pray together at bedtime, and then when she had a nightmare we’d ask Jesus to make it go away. But after a while it stopped working for her – I doubt Jesus stopped answering, but I’ll never understand the complexities of the 3-yr-old psyche and how prayer affects it.

So we moved Bean into her little brother’s room. Yes, he’s 18 months old. And apparently he’s super-baby, because he can protect her from all the nightmares in the world! Nothing scary can get past Little Man with 3 binkies in his crib.  I don’t know what it is, but when she sleeps in his room she sleeps through the night. No nightmares.

Now, what to do if you’re a MOO?  I sadly have no advice for you. But if you wish to dish, please leave your comments in my … (what rhymes with dish and wish?) You get the idea… For more works for me tips, head over to Rocks in my Dryer.

One thought on “WFMW: Dealing with nightmares

  1. My soon to be 10 year old has also been having nightmares since a baby. We got her a dream catcher & that helped some. Not completely but she felt comforted by it (probably similar to your prayer). Now she has a little collection of them & loves them. I’m glad sharing the rooms helped. My 2 girls go back & forth between sharing a room & not. They both prefer the idea of having someone else in the room with them. Good luck on the nightmares, hopefully they won’t last as long as my daughter’s have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

