Update on the marathoning

Well, being able to run 4 whole minutes without stopping does not put me in contention for marathon hopes. As it turns out, I’m not very good at running. And historically, I’ve always stopped doing something when it became clear that I’m not good at it. Yes, I’m very adept at quiting when it seems that hard work will be required.

But this time is different. I’m a bad runner. I may never be a good runner. But I love the way I feel when I finish a run (however short it is). And I love that I fit into my clothes better already after just 3 days. So, I’ve picked out my new running shoes. I’m going to invest in them – even though I’m not good at this. I’m actually going to try to do something that doesn’t come naturally to me. I’m going to work at it.  This is really hard for me. I hate defeat. And I hate doing things that aren’t easy. The truth is, I’ve accomplished quite a lot in my life. Dean’s list, learning languages, all-state orchestra – but all of it came easily to me. I head for the hills at the first sign that I might not succeed.

But I’m turning over a new leaf. I’m going to register for a 5K. I may still be a terrible runner when the time comes to run it. But I’m doing it anyway.  And at least I know that when I finish it – and I will finish it, even if I’m crawling on all fours – I’ll have a great sense of accomplishment. And that’s worth it, right? Well, I’m doing it for me, really.

Leave a Reply

