Mothers Day

Hint, hint… (to a special someone… you know who you are) My Things That Make Me Happy post is a good place to start shopping for Mother’s Day, since I just know you’ll want me to have something to open.

But come on. What any stay at home mom with little little ones wants is… time. Yes, that endangered concept that disappeared somewhere around the time with baby #1 was born, departed from my tummy and became permanently attached to my boobs. Well, maybe that attachment ended after a time (only to be replaced by baby #2 being attached, and then the dreaded pump). But let’s be real, my body has never been mine since – even a shower or trip to the potty is usually accompanied by a little person. And my time is no longer mine either. A treat for Mother’s Day would be… a few hours uninterrupted. At home or out somewhere. Well, scratch that. If I have a few hours at home, I’ll probably spend them cleaning something, or feeling guilty that there are things to be cleaned and I’m not cleaning them. I suppose the best gift would be a whole day (can you imagine? A whole day!) to run around town and not worry about car seats, strollers, diaper bags, sippy cups, snacks, finding spur-of-the-moment entertainment for 2 toddlers, and answering perpetual questions of “what’s that?” and “who’s that?” and “why did she say that?” and “can I get out of the stroller and play with those?”

Hmmmm… A whole day. What would I do? Where would I go? And, how relaxed would I be afterwards? A girl can dream. How about you, fellow bloggers? What do you want for Mother’s Day?

2 thoughts on “Mothers Day

  1. Last year my husband didn’t get me anything or do anything for me for Mother’s Day. Needless to say my heart broke a little. Once I got over it (later that day) I told him I was going out. I went shopping and saw a movie all by myself. It was one of the greatest gifts I’ve ever given myself (and my husband knows better this year!).

    Like

  2. I’ll just add on to what you want. I’d like a day by myself at the spa. mmmmm. And then a night out alone with my hubby and some good food. Alas that wont happen, the children are too young to plan (one is still in a fetile state…that’s not a word) and my husband is the worst ever when it comes to that stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

