BBQ

“No self-respectin’ sothena eva babequed anithang wit’ sauce from a ja(r)!” I guess that puts me square in the category of no self-respecting southerner, as spoken by my late gramma. But she’d a been proud tonight! By default I had to make my own sauce from scratch. You see, we only had Williamson Bros. Sauce on hand, and hubby isn’t so fond of that one. So, I set out to make my own, starting with this recipe at Cooks.com as a base. Unfortunately, that one came out quite similar to the Williamson Bros. that hubby doesn’t like. So I had to doctor it up. Now, since I don’t actually measure anything, I’m afraid I can’t really tell you how to duplicate the tasty bliss that ensued. I have to say though, that I may have been converted tonight to a bbq-sauce-from-scratch kind of girl. I can tell you what I put in it, but I don’t really know how much. (sorry!) All measurements below are based on eye-balling it as I put them in, and may not be to scale.

1-1/3 c ketchup

3/4 c water

1 TBS chili powder

2 drops tabasco

1/3 c Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp salt

less than 1/4 c. molasses (yum!)

a dash or two of liquid smoke

another conservative dash of chili powder

2-3 TBS balsamic vinegar

Had I been smart, I’d a done it early enough to simmer it and add a thickener. But I wasn’t. And I didn’t. But I think I’ll be doing this again. I nearly licked the bowl after I poured the sauce over my ribs (not my ribs, silly! the pork ribs I’m cookin’!).

One thought on “BBQ

Leave a Reply

