Works for me: Cooling oatmeal

Standard

We all know kids aren’t incredibly patient when it comes to waiting for food to cool. But I found 2 quick, easy ways to do it with oatmeal. Here they are:

First, the more nutritious method. Keep some frozen fruit in your freezer (blueberries, diced peaches, etc.) and when the oatmeal is cooked, add a handful of the fruit, still frozen. The oatmeal thaws the fruit while the fruit cools the berries. Stir, check the temp., and I can almost always serve immediately.

Second, for the days when your kids are rebelling against fruit. When the oatmeal is cooked and in bowls, nest the oatmeal bowl in a slightly narrower bowl filled with ice water. 2 minutes and you’re good to go.

That’s what works for me. Head over to Rocks in my dryer for more cool tips.

7 responses »

  1. My Pumpkin always gets a kick out of it when I make the oatmeal on the thick side, and then let her stir ice cubes into it. :) That may just be because she is far from patient. lol

  2. I like oatmeals with yoghurt and raisins. Sometimes I use it as an alternatuve base on my cheesecakes, with Philly light it is heavenly healthy. Yum!

Leave a Reply

