WFMW: Frugal drawer organizers

Standard

I’ve been drooling over these nice drawer organizers over at The Container Store. But the price tag is pretty outrageous, even on sale. 2 for $12? No way. It would take me nearly $50 to organize one child’s chest of drawers. Crazy.

So last week I measured the inside of my drawers and went to Home Depot and picked up a piece of particle board. Total price tag (tax included): $9.41. I had the guys in the lumber department cut it to the dimensions I measured, and voila! The lumber department manager chewed me out a bit later, because apparently they aren’t supposed to cut pieces less than 6″ on any side, and some of mine were narrower than that. (They could have just told me no and I’d have been fine with that, but honestly I was thankful to have it done.) So when it’s time to do the next chest of drawers I’ll just have a friend cut the rest to size. To do the one chest of drawers didn’t even use 1/3 of the particle board.

Here’s what I started with

img_1082.jpg

Here’s the finished product

img_1085.jpg

That’s my Works for Me Wednesday. Head over to Rocks in My Dryer for more ideas!

10 responses »

  1. Love it! I have two toddlers and a newborn so you can guess jsut how messy drawers around here can get. If you have a sec, make sure to stop by my blog for a chance to win $25 Target gift card. :)

  2. Did you have to cut these exactly the size of your drawer so they kind of snap into place? I can see if your measurement was off slightly, they’d fall down, wouldn’t they? It’s a fantastic idea, though! I use boxes and this is much better.

  3. Yes – I measured the inside of the drawer, and they’re actually a really tight fit. I have 3 in each drawer, and I think the outer 2 put a little too much pressure on the back of the drawer, because the one in the middle falls down. But I fixed that by sliding in a small piece of cardboard to make it a tighter fit. It does require accurate measurements though.

  4. Great Idea! You could also use some really heavy cardboard(from a box) covered with contact paper. I’ve used that for my drawer organizer.

  5. I have been in an organization frenzy the past few months and have wondered what to do with the kids’ drawers. This solves that dillema! So how do you organize shoes?

Leave a Reply

